Share This Post
The Risk of Saying “No” to Workers’ Compensation
Workers’ Compensation is an insurance program established by Maryland law that all employers are required to have for the benefit of their employees. In the event that an employee is injured “in the course of employment,” workers’ compensation is supposed to cover your medical costs, rehabilitation, and any lost wages. The system provides that an employee injured on the job, no matter who is at fault, may be entitled to such benefits.
Reasons a Worker Might Say “No” to Workers’ Compensation Benefits
I Felt Guilty…
Some workers feel guilty filing for Workers’ Compensation. They don’t want to get anyone in trouble or financially burden the company. However, saying “No” to the benefits you deserve could be risky.
Workers’ compensation is not designed to hurt employers. The system is designed to help injured employees cover their financial obligations. Failing to file a claim means that you will most likely be responsible for your medical bills and prescriptions, as well as any subsequent rehab. Perhaps more importantly, workers’ compensation benefits help supplement lost wages.
I Thought I Did Enough…
“Just because an injury happens at your job doesn’t mean you’re automatically entitled to benefits,” says Rebecca Shafer, president of Amaxx Risk Solutions, a workers’ compensation consulting firm in Hartford, Connecticut.
Filing a claim is not hard, but you need to know what to do.
- Receive medical treatment.
- Report the injury to your employer. We recommend filing an incident report and putting everything in writing.
- Your employer should provide you with a workers’ compensation claim form.
Upon completion of the
I Thought I Missed My Window of Opportunity…
Under Maryland law, an employee can file a claim for compensation with the Maryland Workers’ Compensation Commission up to two years from the date of the accident. However, a claim should be filed as soon as possible to avoid any unforeseen complications.
Following an approved claim, the employer or insurer is required to begin payment within 15 days.
I Thought My Claim Was Denied…
If you receive a letter stating your claim was denied, this doesn’t necessarily mean you cannot still receive workers’ compensation benefits. The letter may also describe how you can appeal the denial of your claim. Talk to a workers’ compensation attorney as soon as possible. Appeal deadlines are short and strict, so time is of the essence.
Finding a Workers’ Compensation Attorney in Maryland and Virginia
Jenkins Block and Associates has over 43 years of combined experience assisting clients in their workers’ compensation claims in both Maryland and Virginia. With four office locations throughout both states, Jenkins Block & Associates is well-positioned to meet your legal needs.
If you have any questions or prefer to talk on the phone, CALL US at 1-800-243-2439 to be directed to the closest Jenkins Block & Associates location to you.