Share This Post
Maryland Workers’ Compensation Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Workers’ Compensation is a system in Maryland law to provide employees who have been injured on the job with a way to obtain benefits including, but not limited to, medical treatment, vocational rehabilitation and payment for lost wages. Workers’ compensation is also a system in Maryland that garners a lot of questions. Because you don’t need workers’ compensation until you need it, many Marylanders are not overly familiar with the entire process, which result in your claim being denied.
Failure to properly file and handle your workers’ compensation claim could ruin your chances of receiving compensation and medical treatment.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) about Maryland Workers’ Compensation Claims
How Do I File a Workers’ Compensation Claim?
Filing a claim is not hard, but you need to know what to do. After receiving the medical treatment you deserve (your employer or their insurer will pay for your doctor’s visits and treatment if the injury is covered under Workers’ Compensation), notify your employer of the injury as soon as possible. A delay in reporting may affect your claim. We recommend filing an incident report and putting everything in writing. Your employer should then provide you with a claim form.
How Long Does it Take a Claim to be Processed?
Upon completion of the claim form, the insurance company should mail you a status letter within fourteen (14) days. An incomplete form may be returned for missing information, delaying the process. You can learn more about the status of your claim online or by phone.
What Does Workers’ Compensation Cover in Maryland?
Workers’ compensation covers all doctor bills, hospital bills, physical therapy, prescriptions and necessary expenses related to the injury, as well as payment for lost wages.
When Will Payments Begin?
Following a claim has been approved, the employer or insurer is required to begin payment within 15 days. If you have a question about payment status, contact your attorney.
Who Pays for My Workers’ Compensation Benefits?
Your employer is required to carry workers’ compensation insurance, which covers your benefits.
Do I Need an Attorney to File a Claim?
No. You are not required to hire an attorney to file a workers’ compensation claim. However, you may still elect to consult an attorney to help you through this complex process and ensure you get the full benefits you deserve.
A Maryland Workers’ Compensation Attorney
Jenkins Block and Associates has over 43 years of combines experience assisting clients in their workers’ compensation claims in Maryland. We represent clients in all types of personal injury cases, including automobile collisions, slip and fall accidents, wrong death, workplace injuries, and brain and spinal injuries.
Contact an Attorney Today!
With four office locations throughout Maryland and Virginia, Jenkins Block & Associates is well-positioned to meet your legal needs. Please CALL US at 1-800-243-2439 to be directed to the closest Jenkins Block & Associates location to you.
Learn more about Jenkins, Block and Associates and stay up-to-date with our latest news on our Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, and Google+ pages.